View Larger Map


The Regional Municipality of Niagara, also known as the Niagara Region, or colloquially as just  “Niagara”, is a regional municipality comprising twelve municipalities. Although at NiagaraWatch we occasionally comment on some of the major cities around the region as well including Hamilton and Buffalo.

Technically, the region covers most of the Niagara Peninsula. Its eastern boundary is the Niagara River, which is also the border with the United States. It is bounded on the north by Lake Ontario and on the south by Lake Erie.

The single most impressive aspect of the region is of course Niagara Falls, which is actually the collective name for three waterfalls that straddle the international border between Canada and the United States and produce enormous amounts of hydroelectric power. Together, Niagara’s generating stations can produce about 4.4 gigawatts of power.

Niagara is also important centre for both agriculture, industry and tourism. As far back as 1834 through to recent history the region has been home to many industries and business taking advantage of ready access to the great Lakes, and the Welland Canal joining Lake Erie and Lake Ontario, and by-passing Niagara Falls.

Although Niagara is famous for wonderful orchards of peaches, plums, apples, pears and more, one of the most important agricultural enterprises in Niagara today is viticulture, or winemaking. Along with Shaw Festival, held annually in Niagara-on-the-Lake, the Welland Canal, the Niagara Escarpment, Niagara is one of the most beautiful, bountiful and interesting regions in North America and indeed, the world.

NiagaraWatch covers all of it – best we can. – providing you with unique insight into the region as well as useful information for both visitors and the residents of Niagara.


Naiagars Falls    800px-Niagara_Staumauer_db    800px-Welland_canal_and_skyway    Bruce-Trail-bmountain


Fresh Fruit at the Market
Fresh produce at the local market.